First Sentences

The Good Guy by Dean Koontz

“Sometimes a mayfly skates across a pond, leaving a brief wake as thin as spider silk, and by staying low avoids the birds and bats that feed in flight. At six feet three, weighing two hundred ten pounds, with big hands and bigger feet, Timothy Carrier could not maintain a profile as low as that of skating mayfly, but he tried.”

This is interesting because the contrast between a mayfly and a man is stark, and grabbed my attention in a bout of curiosity.

Prey by Michael Crichton

“Things never turn out the way you think they will. I never intended to become a house-husband. Stay-at-home husband. Full-time dad, whatever you want to call it-there is no good term for it.”

This grabbed my attention because house-husbands are rarely heard of (in books and in reality), so listening to one’s story is completely interesting.

Hannibal by Thomas Harris

“Clarice Sterling’s Mustang boomed up the entrance ramp at the Bureau of Alcohol , Tobacco, and Firearms on Massachusetts Avenue, a headquarters rented from the Reverend Sun Myung Moon in the interest of economy. The strike force waited in three vehicles, a battered undercover van to lead and two black SWAT vans behind it, manned and idling in the cavernous garage.”

This is very interesting to me because the dramatic switch from boring real estate to crime pulls me to read further. I wonder why the SWAT are there? That is the question that pulls me to read.

The Way We Fall by Megan Crewe

“Leo,

It’s been about six hours since you left the island. The way things have been, I know you wouldn’t have expected me to come to see you off, but I keep thinking about how you waved and waved from the bock five years ago, when I was leaving for Toronto.”

The speaker sounds mournful, which I find interesting. There is no spectacular hook, but I can tell that there is a subtle, underlying hint of danger that could grow later on in the novel.

Leave a comment